Phoenix Misuk

Helmut Oehring: Phoenix Misuk
Juliane Klein: Konzertstück I
Steffen Schleiermacher: GnadenLos
Michael Beil: und sechs
Detlev Müller-Siemens: Die Aussicht
The collaboration with German composer Helmut Oehring began during the rehearsals on his opera "Unsichtbar Land" for choir, symphony orchestra, baroque orchestra and instrumental soloists, which was performed in 2006 at the "Theatre Basel" and conducted by Jürg Henneberger. Musicians of the "Ensemble Phoenix Basel" played some of the solo parts.
This collaboration blossomed further in the production "Gunten", a theatre piece with music based on the novel by Swiss author Robert Walser. This was performed for the first time in the "Gare du Nord" Basel on October 2008.
In preparation for this opera, Oehring wrote a shorter ensemble piece for Ensemble Phoenix in 2007 .

Michael Beil wrote a series of compositions based on the "multiplication tables of the witches" in Goethe's "Faust".

The compositions of Juliane Klein and Steffen Schleiermacher use the piano as this, which Jenny, the leading character (played by Hannah Herzsprung) of the remarkable German film "Four Minutes" by Chris Kraus, the piano essentially characterizes: as a percussion instrument.

The German composer Detlev Müller-Siemens lives in Basel and teaches in Vienna. He wrote his composition "Die Aussicht" (view/perspective/promise/hope), based on a poem by Friedrich Hölderlin, for the "Basel Madrigalists" and the "Ensemble Phoenix Basel."